Blessing Rolls!

Standard

Thanks to one of my new favorite bloggers, How does she?, we had a lot of fun around the dinner table this Thanksgiving. I debated posting these, seeing as Thanksgiving is past and Christmas is barreling at us so quickly, but I think these are definitely appropriate for Christmas, Advent, and any other holidays you might be celebrating this December.

I made some yummy yeast rolls, but instead of my normal yeast roll recipe, I ventured a little and went for some buttery crescent rolls.  With a little surprise inside each one.

About a week before Thanksgiving, I had all of our guests send me a list of 5 things they were thankful for. Thanks to our Thankful Tree we did every day in November, I had quite a list for our little family.

A couple of things from our Thankful Tree list...

 

The dough made enough for 4 dozen rolls. I had to make them in four small circles...you can see one of them in the background.

 

Once I cut up my circles into little triangles, I was ready to start rolling in my thankful notes. However, when I do them again, I think I'll modify the original instructions, and lay them lengthwise along the widest part of the triangle - instead of wrapping them all the way inside like they were. They were a little difficult for my little ones to pull out sometimes.

 

 

Everyone enjoyed playing the game - even my lovely Mother and Father in love. :)

 

Thanks to the South, we can play outside after dinner. Without jackets.

 

How could one not be thankful on a day like this?

 

Happy Holidays everyone!

 

Again, if you want the original recipe, check out the Delicious Dinner Rolls at How Does She?  Have fun with these! I think you could use them for a birthday dinner (what do we like about the birthday girl?), Christmas dinner (What are your favorite Christmas memories/stories/blessings, etc.?), Valentine’s Day (what do you love about your family?)….

About Kim

I am a sinner, miraculously saved by grace, living by faith, and pressing toward the mark of being more like Christ. I absolutely love being a stay-at-home mom! I'm also a caterer for a few weddings throughout the year, a baker, and a party planner. And I love to play in other people's kitchens as well as my own! My husband, Chris, just finished his studies for his MA degree in Pastoral Studies. He's a wonderful (and super smart!) daddy - and the most loving and supportive husband. My two beautiful daughters, Chloe and Kami, are the joys of our lives! We pray that they both would be greatly used of the Lord. Throughout their short time here on earth, we have learned so much about ourselves, our God, and the gratefulness we have towards our own parents, who raised us in the ways of God's Word. Our third unborn child is a blessing as well - even after its recent pre-diagnosis of Trisomy 18, or Edwards Syndrome. This blog has kinda turned into a little journal of sorts of our dark journey down this rather uncommon road. I stay busy cooking, cleaning, gardening, and raising the plants I killed back to life, and homeschooling. I blog when get the chance. :) We are always happy to have visitors, so please stop by anytime! Although, if you do give us a call first, we'll make sure to have some fresh cookies and sweet tea available when you arrive!

Tell me what you think!

