FYI – little bits of information that I’ve learned. . . probably the hard way!

Standard

Firstdon’t let your kid swallow Palmolive Dish Soap.  It won’t kill ’em, and it won’t really bother them, too much, but it will upset their stomach and have some interesting side effects. . . .

Yes, Chloe was out of my sight for only a moment, and she found the new bottle of dish soap (that I had gotten free at CVS, of course!).  When I heard her coughing, I ran into the room and found that she had drank 2 ounces of the 13 ounce bottle!  I immediately said a quick prayer, then washed out her mouth and called the Poison Control Center.  The guy on the phone told me that she should be fine, but that she might vomit once or twice, and her throat would probably be irritated.  Just about that time, she did vomit (sorry for the gory details – the story does get better!), and started coughing and burping. . . .and when she did, she kept blowing bubbles!  🙂  I probably would have panicked had I not known that she would be OK.  Three hours later, she still smells like citrus! 🙂

 

Second – if you’re going to store your favorite salt and pepper shakers for a move (like more than a few weeks), you should pour the salt and pepper out of the shakers – no matter how expensive your salt and pepper is!  I left the salt and pepper in mine when we moved from West Virginia ( I wish I could say it was because I was super frugal and I didn’t want to waste it, but really, I probably just didn’t feel like doing it), and now the top of my salt shaker has begun corroding . . . I guess that’s what I get for being lazy!  🙂

 

Stay tuned – I’m sure I’ll have many more FYI’s to come! 🙂

About Kim

I am a sinner, miraculously saved by grace, living by faith, and pressing toward the mark of being more like Christ. I absolutely love being a stay-at-home mom! I'm also a caterer for a few weddings throughout the year, a baker, and a party planner. And I love to play in other people's kitchens as well as my own! My husband, Chris, just finished his studies for his MA degree in Pastoral Studies. He's a wonderful (and super smart!) daddy - and the most loving and supportive husband. My two beautiful daughters, Chloe and Kami, are the joys of our lives! We pray that they both would be greatly used of the Lord. Throughout their short time here on earth, we have learned so much about ourselves, our God, and the gratefulness we have towards our own parents, who raised us in the ways of God's Word. Our third unborn child is a blessing as well - even after its recent pre-diagnosis of Trisomy 18, or Edwards Syndrome. This blog has kinda turned into a little journal of sorts of our dark journey down this rather uncommon road. I stay busy cooking, cleaning, gardening, and raising the plants I killed back to life, and homeschooling. I blog when get the chance. :) We are always happy to have visitors, so please stop by anytime! Although, if you do give us a call first, we'll make sure to have some fresh cookies and sweet tea available when you arrive!

2 responses »

  1. Man, I was hoping to do #1 as soon as Hana Kate was as old as Chloe. Thanks for the advice. ;P Actually, many years ago, when babysitting Alyvia, she somehow swallowed the bubble solution–I was terrified. (Actually, more like, she drank it and enjoyed it.)

  2. I’m sure she did enjoy it – I can see Alyvia doing that! 🙂 Yeah, after the whole episode was over, I tried giving Chloe the bottle of soap just to see what she’d do with it. . . .she said, “No, No, NO!” and knocked it out of my hand! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

