A match made in (and out of) Heaven. (Part 3)

Standard
A match made in (and out of) Heaven. (Part 3)

If you’re just now joining, feel free to take a step back to read Part 1 and Part 2 before continuing on here.

Fast forward another month and a week or two and here we are. It’s the day for Nathanael’s c-section. I was eagerly awaiting the news of Nathanael’s safe birth and to hear that just maybe there were in fact babies who dared to make a sound after birth.

He did arrive. In beautiful perfect sweetness. I cried tears of joy so much over my silly iPhone as I stared at that grainy perfect picture message – and wondered if tears counted as water damage in Apple’s policies.

I felt so much hope. Hope that while my Kyle Nathaniel wasn’t here – this little Nathanael was. God still lives and He still gives life. I wanted to hold this little baby so badly as if he had some sort of connection to my son. And perhaps in a way there was a connection – his mother and I were knit together at heart seams with grace and love and now – a sort of redemption. I had begged God to let my heart rejoice in new babies again. And finally, it was able to. What my heart so desperately wanted to turn ugly in bitterness and jealousy and hurt and despair, God had worked yet another miracle of beauty – a little bit of healing. Maybe this little Nathanael would fulfill a few dreams that I had for my little Kyle. And perhaps – he would be able to glorify God here on earth as much as my Kyle Nathaniel is in Heaven – except this time I’d get to watch it happen.

Despite my best efforts, it still took a little bit to make my way up to see this little guy. I started the 3 hour drive from my house – to meet a complete stranger in person, but a close friend at heart – on his 3 month birthday. The drive up was rather uneventful with my sweet girls chatting away about what it would be like if unicorns walked on the road with the cars and how many “are we there yet’s?” they could say before we really were there yet. Madeline music came through the speakers.

I stopped at a baby store in the mall. First time I’ve even tried looking at baby boy clothes since I bought Kyle’s one outfit. And I bought him something. And I did ok.

I thought only of seeing this little baby. And the fear that perhaps I’d crumble under the pressure of seeing him. Fear – it’s something I haven’t really experienced until I became a mother. But now it’s something I face daily in my mind. Fear that perhaps seeing him would in fact bring on the biggest doubts and despair. At this point, I’ve avoided all things baby including holding sweet babies themselves for almost 17 months now. (That is, all baby boys younger than 5 months anyway – for some reaon – once they hit 13 lbs or so, they seem just ridiculously huge to me after my new 1 lb 4 oz normal.) Would I completely lose it if I heard him cry? My tears started flowing freely along I-85. Does anyone else cry when they’re driving? Surely it isn’t safe. I can see the new laws now: “Cell phone use without a hands free device and free flowing tears now cause for primary ticketing.” At least my phone was ok this time since I try not to look at it while I’m driving.

Anyway, I did arrive (safely). And my fears, though so very large and real and seemingly insurmountable, were completely erased when I saw a whole pile of smiles. Welcoming smiles.

And as this dear new friend’s arms wrapped around me in love, and her paint-tainted fingers passed her baby into my arms…I healed.

And, to those of you who have hurting hearts, or who have hurt with us, or who are perhaps just joining in on this chaotic roller coaster, I welcome you to witness this moment of healing. Healing for me – for my family – and a precious gift from a new friend. It truly was a match – a healing, beautiful, glorious match – made in Heaven. (Start the healing by playing the lovely song below – dedicated to Nathaniels and babies all around the world.)

DSC_0023

DSC_0026

DSC_0034

DSC_0031

DSC_0018

DSC_0010

DSC_0020

Image 1

DSC_0058

DSC_0061

DSC_0135

About Kim

I am a sinner, miraculously saved by grace, living by faith, and pressing toward the mark of being more like Christ. I absolutely love being a stay-at-home mom! I'm also a caterer for a few weddings throughout the year, a baker, and a party planner. And I love to play in other people's kitchens as well as my own! My husband, Chris, just finished his studies for his MA degree in Pastoral Studies. He's a wonderful (and super smart!) daddy - and the most loving and supportive husband. My two beautiful daughters, Chloe and Kami, are the joys of our lives! We pray that they both would be greatly used of the Lord. Throughout their short time here on earth, we have learned so much about ourselves, our God, and the gratefulness we have towards our own parents, who raised us in the ways of God's Word. Our third unborn child is a blessing as well - even after its recent pre-diagnosis of Trisomy 18, or Edwards Syndrome. This blog has kinda turned into a little journal of sorts of our dark journey down this rather uncommon road. I stay busy cooking, cleaning, gardening, and raising the plants I killed back to life, and homeschooling. I blog when get the chance. :) We are always happy to have visitors, so please stop by anytime! Although, if you do give us a call first, we'll make sure to have some fresh cookies and sweet tea available when you arrive!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: A match made in (and out of) Heaven. (Part 2) | Kim's Kitchen

Tell me what you think!

